Royston regain Memorial Trophy after away triumph

Royston Golf Club's Nigel Thomas (club captain) presented with trophy

Royston Golf Club's Nigel Thomas (club captain) presented with trophy - Credit: Archant

There was success for Royston’s men’s team as they regained the Memorial Trophy with a 4-2 victory at Bishop’s Stortford.

The trophy only changes hands when a team wins both legs of this long-standing match and Royston’s home win earlier this year paved the way for the opportunity to bring the cup back home.

Club President Barry Rouse was the mastermind behind the choice of pairings which helped set up this victory.

Fine weather greeted the Saturday Swindle players and the scores showed that the recent sunshine has helped burn off some of the deep rough on the heath.

Darren Evans won the day with a superb score of 43 points with Byron Truscott second on 40 points and David Marsh third with 39.

Tom Woods was king of the putters on Saturday at Royston Golf Club as he won the Vernon Putting Competition, beating Sam Chipperfield in the 36 hole final.

Woods said: “I have been spending time with our PGA professional Ryan Wingate and I think the putting lessons are finally paying off.”

Most Read

On Sunday, the club held their Centenary Medal Final.

Darren Thompson secured first place with a net score of 67 one shot clear of Stuart Hart in second and Ollie Bance in third.

The usual monthly medal was held for the non-qualifiers for the Centenary Medal.

Chris Little was handed the victory on countback from Byron Truscott as both returned scores of net 68.

Steve March was third with his score of 69.

Earlier in the week the club’s senior section (the Pulsatillas) secured a 7 and a half to a half victory at home to Whitehills in their latest club match.

The same evening saw the ladies’ section hold their 12 hole Twilight Stableford competiton.

Winner of the silver division was Sarah Buckerfield with Libby Toby second and Kathy Musgrove taking third.

In the Bronze Division Linda Lakey came out on top on countback from Val Squires in second and Sue Bidwell in third.