Records fall for Cycle Club Ashwell

Cycle Club Ashwell Olympic VeloPark

Cycle Club Ashwell Olympic VeloPark - Credit: Archant

It was a week of new club records for Cycle Club Ashwell as Justin Layne and David Woodhouse went even faster over 10 and 25 miles.

At the VTTA meeting on the E2/10 course, Layne broke his previous club record by five seconds, completing the 10 mile course in a staggering 19 minutes 26 seconds. Chris Pearce also rode well clocking 21:17. Steven Jennings and Michael Martin had the same time of 21:58 and Carmelo Luggeri stopped clock at 23 minutes dead.

On the A25/25 at Newark on Trent, Woodhouse rode a superb 25 mile time trial, finishing in a time of 50 minutes 16 seconds to beat his previous club record by over a minute.

The Bicester Millenium CC team time trial had their annual ride on the Silverstone Grand Prix Circuit, with a nine man team from CCA competing for top honours. Anthony Morris, Justin Layne, Luke Danckert, Dave Mitchinson, Andy Whale, Andy Robinson, Jon Chapman, Will Smith and Cam Woolsey took on the three lap challenge, riding 11 miles around the prestigious circuit. A smooth and well-executed ride left the strongest five riders to charge for the finish line with a time of 22 minutes 58 seconds, placing CCA in fifth place and the fastest non-sponsored team in the competition.

At the CCA club 10, a windy night meant a tough ride for some and a good ride for other. Team Spirit Racing’s Cameron Woolsey took the fastest time of 21 minutes 30 seconds ahead of CCA’s Mark Constable with 23:15.