Newly-promoted Royston Town start new Southern League Premier Division campaign at home

Royston Town were crowned championsof the Southern League Division One central last season. Picture:

Royston Town were crowned championsof the Southern League Division One central last season. Picture: KEVIN RICHARDS - Credit: Archant

Royston Town’s first season in the Evo-Stik Southern League Premier Division will begin at Garden Walk following the release of the fixtures for the new season.

The Crows will face Stratford Town on Saturday, August 12 before travelling to last season’s sparring partners Farnborough on the following Wednesday.

They are away on August Bank Holiday Monday when they go to Hitchin Town with the return fixture coming on Boxing Day.

A trip to Bishop’s Stortford will open 2018 with the return game on Easter Monday at Garden Walk.

Easter Saturday will take Royston to Hereford, who averaged over 2,800 last term at Edgar Street.

The final home game of the season takes place on April 21 with a local derby against Biggleswade Town while a trip to Slough Town brings the curtain down for the year a week later.

Royston’s entry into this year’s FA Trophy will come on October 28 at home to Enfield Town while they are exempt to the first round qualifying of the FA Cup, which will take place on September 2.

Most Read


12 - Stratford Town (h)

16 - Farnborough (a)

19 - Gosport Borough (a)

26 - Dunstable Town (h)

28 - Hitchin Town (a)


09 - Hereford (h)

12 - King’s Lynn Town (h)

23 - Merthyr Town (a)

26 - St Neots Town (a)

30 - Weymouth (h)


07 - Chesham United (a)

10 - St Ives Town (h)

14 - Frome Town (h)

17 - Kettering Town (a)

21 - Stratford Town (a)

24 - Farnborough (h)


04 - Slough Town (h)

11 - Biggleswade Town (a)

14 - King’s Lynn Town (a)

18 - Redditch United (h)

25 - Kings Langley (a)

28 - St Neots Town (h)


02 - Dorchester Town (h)

09 - Banbury United (a)

16 - Tiverton Town (h)

23 - Basingstoke Town (a)

26 - Hitchin Town (h)


01 - Bishop’s Stortford (a)

06 - Gosport Borough (h)

13 - Dunstable Town (a)

20 - Chesham United (h)

27 - St Ives Town (a)


03 - Kettering Town (h)

10 - Frome Town (a)

17 - Weymouth (a)

24 - Merthyr Town (h)


03 - Redditch United (a)

10 - Kings Langley (h)

17 - Banbury United (h)

24 - Dorchester Town (a)

31 - Hereford (a)


02 - Bishop’s Stortford (h)

07 - Basingstoke Town (h)

14 - Tiverton Town (a)

21 - Biggleswade Town (h)

28 - Slough Town (a)

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter