Greneway qualify for Inter-District Finals

Middle school win Davenport Trophy for sixth consecutive year

GRENEWAY have qualified for the English Schools’ 7-a-side Inter-District Finals after comfortably coming through the North Herts Schools’ qualifying tournament recently.

The North Herts Schools’ qualifying tournament winners took home the Davenport Sheild - named after Joe Davenport who initiated the tournament – and this was the sixth consecutive time they have won it.

The opening fixtures pitted hosts Roysia against Greneway and St Marys against the Royston All-Stars, who were made up of a combination of squad players from both Roysia and Greneway.

Greneway were able to serge into an early two-goal lead against Roysia with Jack Hallewell using his pace to score both. They continued to push forward and more goals followed when Max Logan smashed one into the top corner while Hallewell completed his hat-trick.

St Marys also got off to a winning start against the All-Stars despite strong performances from Jake Basham, Nathan Wright, Billy Hall and Lewis Mansfield who was a constant goal threat.

The second round of fixtures saw St Marys extend their winning streak against Roysia. Greneway joined them on two wins from two against the All-Stars with solid performances from midfield trio Jamie Penn, Matt Bailey and Tom Fox. This meant Greneway and St Marys would play out the third fixture with the winners taking the title.

Most Read

The Greneway and St Marys players took to the field knowing that they would have to be at their best if they were to come out on top. Both teams had some early chances, but Greneway ‘keeper Nathan Harness looked unbeatable.

As the game went on it was captain Michael Baulk who took control of the game and was a constant supply line for Logan who managed to brake the deadlock with a smart finish.

Harry Walsh, Jamie Copeland and Kye Blows all showed great strength on the ball to see the job through for Greneway.

Greneway: Nathan Harness, Callum Toovey, Jamie Copeland, Billy Hall, Jake Basham, Nathan Wright, Lewis Mansfield, Jamie Penn, Harry Walsh, Michael Baulk (C), Matt Bailey, Jack Hallewell, Tom Fox, Max Logan, Kye Blows.