Corvus Cornix Basketball team volunteer Di Charles is honoured with national award

52nd Torch Trophy Trust Awards 24th February 2015

52nd Torch Trophy Trust Awards 24th February 2015 - Credit: GEO Pictorial / George S Blonsky

A Royston lady has been honoured for her dedication to basketball by the Torch Trophy Trust at their 52nd annual awards evening in Pall Mall, London.

Di Charles, in her seventies, who was a founder member of Royston’s Corvus Cornix Basketball Club back in 1969, received a nomination by Basketball England for the prestigious ‘Torch Trophy Award’ after over 40 years of volunteering work.

Along with several other motivated volunteers, Charles was presented with the award by the Countess of Wessex Sophie Rhys-Jones at the Army and Navy Club.

Di was accompanied to the awards ceremony by her Corvus founder member and husband Ken Charles MBE and Terry Graves coach for the club.

Trust board member Christine Janes MBE said: “She has volunteered her services as secretary, chair, president, coach and official.

“Di passionately wants the best for every player and has been lauded for her boundless enthusiasm, energy for the game and for ensuring it is one where participation is possible for anybody, regardless of age, skill or ability.

“She’s driven by her love for basketball, a love that has seen her spearhead many initiatives to drive participation, including setting up women-only sessions, reconnecting former players with the game and organising domestic and European basketball festivals and jamborees.”

Most Read

The Torch Trophy Trust is a charity that rewards, recognises and supports volunteers in sport and recreation. They offer bursaries and recognise the achievements of some of the UK’s most outstanding volunteers in the annual Torch Trophy Trust Awards, presented by a member of the Royal Family.

Legendary England footballer Sir Bobby Charlton, who was also present at the event, said: “The recipients of our awards form a vital part of the fabric of what holds grassroots sport together. I am glad that our winners are enjoying the recognition they deserve.”