A goalkeeper, who started life at Hatfield Town before moving to Royston Town has been included in the EFL League One team of the year.

Will Norris made close to 20 appearances for the Blueboys in 2011 before heading to the Crows, helping them to the Spartan South Midlands League Premier Division title and promotion to the Southern League.

Now 30, the Watford-born stopper has starred as Portsmouth have stormed to the top of the table, just two points from the title with three games to play.

He has been joined in the honoured squad, announced at a lavish awards ceremony held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London, by Stevenage's Jamie Reid.

His impressive season in front of goal has seen him score 18 league goals in 41 appearances, with a further three in the FA Cup and one in the EFL Trophy.

Reid's efforts also brought further individual recognition with his first two caps for Northern Ireland, scoring on his debut in Romania after just seven minutes.

There was less joy for Boro manager Steve Evans as he was beaten to the League One manager of the year crown by Portsmouth's John Mousinho, the former Stevenage player.

The League One player of the season was Peterborough United defender Harrison Burrows while Posh team-mate Ronnie Edwards was the division's young player of the year.

Northampton Town's Reuben Wyatt was named apprentice of the year for League One.

EFL League One team of the year

Goalkeeper - Will Norris (Portsmouth)
Defender - Josh Dacres-Cogley (Bolton Wanderers)
Defender - Conor Shaughnessy (Portsmouth)
Defender - Eiran Cashin (Derby County)
Defender - Harrison Burrows (Peterborough United)
Midfielder - Nathaniel Mendez-Laing (Derby County)
Midfielder - Marlon Pack (Portsmouth)
Midfielder - Josh Sheehan (Bolton Wanderers)
Forward - Ephron Mason-Clark (Peterborough United)
Forward - Alfie May (Charlton Athletic)
Forward - Jamie Reid (Stevenage)