Melbourn Parish Council meetings suspended until further notice following multiple resignations

The Melbourn Community Hub. Credit: Keith Mindham Photography.

The Melbourn Community Hub. Credit: Keith Mindham Photography. - Credit: Photo: © Keith Mindham Photo

Due to the resignation of seven councillors this week, Melbourn Parish Council will be unable to hold meetings until further notice.

The council needs at least five parish councillors to hold parish meetings, but there are only currently four.

The extraordinary meeting, and finance and general meeting, both due to be held on Monday, August 8, have therefore been cancelled.

On Monday, chairman Bob Tulloch, Kimmi Crosby, Mike Linnette and Irene Bloomfield resigned from the parish council.

This was followed by Andrew Mulcock on Tuesday. Yesterday, Siegmar Parton and Sally Ann Hart also resigned.

You may also want to watch:

This follows the resignation of four councillors in May this year.

The four remaining parish councillors are Councillor Mike Sherwen, Councillor Rosemary Gatward, Councillor Chris Stead, and Councillor Maureen Townsend.

Most Read

A grievance panel report following a serious complaint in relation to the council, remains unpublished.

The parish must now advertise the vacancies and then 10 registered electors from the parish must then request for an election to take place within 14 days of vacancies being advertised. This will trigger an election.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter