Results in for South Cambs District Council by-election

Counting IWM Duxford

Counting is under way for the South Cambs District Council by-election and Cambs County Council election at IWM Duxford - Credit: South Cambs District Council

The Liberal Democrats have won all four seats at the South Cambs District Council by-elections. 

The vacant Melbourn seat was one of two district council seats that represents the villages of Melbourn, Meldreth, Shepreth and Whaddon. The by-election was due to the resignation of Philippa Hart.

The by-election also took voters to the polls for Girton, Haston and Comberton and Milton and Waterbeach wards.

Melbourn ward: Liberal Democrat hold

Paul Evans, Green - 256 votes

Thomas-Charles Goldie, Conservative - 992

Sally Hart, Liberal Democrat - 1,510 - elected

Most Read

Turnout in Melbourn ward was 43.61 per cent

Girton ward:

Colin Coe, Green - 246 votes

Corinne Garvie, Liberal Democrat - 967 votes - elected

Marcelo Gonçalves de Lima, Labour - 344 votes

Khadijeh Jaqori, Conservative - 621 votes

Milton and Waterbeach ward:

Paul Bearpark, Liberal Democrat - 1,255 votes - elected

Eleanor Crane, Green - 424 votes

Clive Rabbett, Conservative - 1,069 votes

Jane Williams, Labour - 915 votes

Harston and Comberton ward

Lorraine Mooney, Conservative - 1,459 votes

Colin Reynolds, Green - 335 votes

Michael Tierney, Labour - 519 votes

Fiona Whelan, Liberal Democrat - 1,785 votes - elected

Counting is also under way for the South Cambridgeshire divisions of Cambridgeshire County Council. For results, following @roystoncrow on Twitter.