Herts County Council Elections 2017: Liberal Democrats gain Royston seat from Conservatives but other seats stay blue

The Liberal Democrats have gained the Royston West and Rural seat on Herts County Council.

The Liberal Democrats have gained the Royston West and Rural seat on Herts County Council. - Credit: Archant

The Conservatives have lost one of their two Herts County Council seats in Royston to the Liberal Democrats after the county went to the polls yesterday.

Steve Jarvis took the Royston West and Rural seat from Tony Hunter, who has held the seat since 2009.

The closely run contest was decided by just 62 votes.

It was a far more comfortable victory for Conservative Fiona Hill, who held Royston East and Ermine by almost 1,600 votes.

The Tories have maintained their control of Herts County Council as a whole, and it’s pretty much as you were for the North Herts district.

The Conservatives also held the Royston Heath seat in a North Herts District Council by-election, with another hold in Royston Town Council’s Heath ward.

For the Royston results in full see below, with South Cambs results to come later today.

Most Read

Herts County Council:

• Royston East and Ermine – CONSERVATIVE HOLD

Karen Harmel (Green) – 192

Fiona Hill (Con) – 2,244 ELECTED

Mark Hughes (Ind) – 277

Hugh Parker (Lib Dem) – 633

John Rees (Lab) – 479

Turnout: 3,890 (35.18 per cent)


Christoper Arquati (UKIP) – 162

Dean Lee Cartwright (Green) – 145

Kenneth Garland (Lab) – 380

Tony Hunter (Con) – 1,914

Steve Jarvis (Lib Dem) – 1,976 ELECTED

Turnout: 4,590 (38.98 per cent)

North Herts District Council by-election:


Christopher Arquati (UKIP) – 68

Sarah Dingley (Con) – 844 ELECTED

Katherine Shann (Green) – 97

Carol Stanier (Lib Dem) – 470

Vaughan West (Lab) – 196

Turnout: 1,680 (39.99 per cent)

• Royston Town Heath – CONSERVATIVE HOLD

The Royston Town Heath Ward seat on Royston Town Council was another Conservative hold.

Christopher Arquati (Ind) – 59

Ruth Brown (Lib Dem) – 587

Robin King (Lab) – 200

Marguerite Phillips (Con) – 825 ELECTED

Turnout: 1,679 (38.96 per cent)