Herts County Council elections 2017: Conservatives maintain dominance in North Herts

PUBLISHED: 08:55 05 May 2017 | UPDATED: 12:23 09 May 2017

2017 Herts County Council elections: The Conservatives have maintained their dominance in North Herts.

2017 Herts County Council elections: The Conservatives have maintained their dominance in North Herts.


It was pretty much as you were for North Herts in yesterday’s Herts County Council elections – with the Conservatives gaining a seat from Labour to maintain their dominance in the district, but losing one to the Liberal Democrats.

Polling stations closed at 10pm with ballots counted overnight – with the overall turnout for the district 36.90 per cent.

It was a good night for the Conservatives who kept hold of seven of their seats, as well making a gain from Labour in the Letchworth North division as Doug Swanney – standing in place of Lorna Kercher – lost to Simon Bloxham.

The one disappointment for the Tories was slightly further afield in the Royston West and Rural division, where North Herts Liberal Democrats group leader Steve Jarvis beat Tony Hunter by 62 votes.

Labour did hold one of their two North Herts seats, with Judi Billing elected in Hitchin North.

There was also one seat contested for North Herts District Council in a Hitchin Priory by-election, with Raymond Shakespeare-Smith holding the seat for the Conservatives.

For the full results and turnouts see below.

Herts County Council seats in North Herts:

• Baldock and Letchworth East – CONSERVATIVE HOLD

Brian Alderton (UKIP) – 223

Rosemary Bland (Green) – 243

Anne Holland (Lab) – 767

Michael Muir (Con) – 1,850 ELECTED

Richard Winter (Lib Dem) – 716

Turnout: 3,807 (35 per cent)

Hitchin North – LABOUR HOLD

Judi Billing (Lab) – 2,223 ELECTED

Barbara Clare (TUSC) – 35

Sam Collins (Lib Dem) – 550

David Leal-Bennett (Con) – 1,215

Mario May (Green) – 321

Turnout: 4,355 (37.45 per cent)


David Barnard (Con) – 1,970 ELECTED

Mary Marshall (Green) – 338

Neill Sankey (Lab) – 729

Carol Stanier (Lib Dem) – 426

Turnout: 3,471 (34.06 per cent)


Derrick Ashley (Con) – 1,884 ELECTED

Paul Clark (Lib Dem) – 1,770

Angela Griggs (Lab) – 618

Diana Newson (Green) – 274

Turnout: 4,563 (42.65 per cent)

Knebworth and Codicote – CONSERVATIVE HOLD

Richard Downey (Lab) – 494

Rebecca Leek (Green) – 219

Richard Thake (Con) – 2,090 ELECTED

Terry Tyler (Lib Dem) – 934

Turnout: 3,749 (37.45 per cent)


Simon Bloxham (Con) – 1,753 ELECTED

Elizabeth Hancock (Green) – 301

Sean Prendergast (Lib Dem) – 356

Doug Swanney (Lab) – 1,646

Turnout: 4,071 (34.38 per cent)

• Letchworth South – CONSERVATIVE HOLD

Jean Andrews (Lab) – 874

Maryla Hart (Green) – 202

Terry Hone (Con) – 2,125 ELECTED

Barry Neale (Lib Dem) – 707

Sidney Start (UKIP) – 215

Turnout: 4,134 (36.98 per cent)

Royston East and Ermine – CONSERVATIVE HOLD

Karen Harmel (Green) – 192

Fiona Hill (Con) – 2,244 ELECTED

Mark Hughes (Ind) – 277

Hugh Parker (Lib Dem) – 633

John Rees (Lab) – 479

Turnout: 3,890 (35.18 per cent)


Christoper Arquati (UKIP) – 162

Dean Lee Cartwright (Green) – 145

Kenneth Garland (Lab) – 380

Tony Hunter (Con) – 1,914

Steve Jarvis (Lib Dem) – 1,976 ELECTED

Turnout: 4,590 (38.98 per cent)

North Herts District Council by-election


John Hefford (Lib Dem) – 394

Jacqueline McDonald (Ind) – 277

Raymond Shakespeare-Smith (Con) – 717 ELECTED

Des Stephens (Green) – 114

Dave Winstanley (Lab) – 219

Turnout: 1,727 (46.44 per cent)

Related articles


Welcome , please leave your message below.

Optional - JPG files only
Optional - MP3 files only
Optional - 3GP, AVI, MOV, MPG or WMV files

Please log in to leave a comment and share your views with other Royston Crow visitors.

We enable people to post comments with the aim of encouraging open debate.

Only people who register and sign up to our terms and conditions can post comments. These terms and conditions explain our house rules and legal guidelines.

Comments are not edited by Royston Crow staff prior to publication but may be automatically filtered.

If you have a complaint about a comment please contact us by clicking on the Report This Comment button next to the comment.

Not a member yet?

Register to create your own unique Royston Crow account for free.

Signing up is free, quick and easy and offers you the chance to add comments, personalise the site with local information picked just for you, and more.

Sign up now

More news stories

Yesterday, 15:33

An on-duty Royston firefighter who drove his fire engine at speed onto a roundabout with the result that it toppled over and killed a pedestrian was today found not guilty of causing his death by dangerous driving.

Yesterday, 12:25

The cost of building Cambridgeshire County Council’s new headquarters at Alconbury Weald has already increased by 10 per cent without a brick being laid.

Yesterday, 07:01

Royston schoolchildren have held a special assembly to mark the centenary of the end of the First World War.

Thu, 16:55

As the topic that has split the nation for the last two years comes to its final stages, what do our MPs think about Theresa May’s draft Brexit plan?

Most read stories

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Read the Royston Crow e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Royston Crow weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy